My Dome Picks

I’ve spent a good portion of the last three days working on previews for the S.D. State football finals. This means I either know what I’m talking about at this point, or I’m more confused than ever.

Washington's Danny Marlette (25) celebrates his second quarter score in the 2012 state final. What teams will win this weekend?
Washington’s Danny Marlette (25) celebrates his second quarter score in the 2012 state final. What teams will win this weekend?

I am 71-11 overall in SD picks, so let’s see if I can finish with a bang:

9A: Wolsey-Wessington over Howard. The Tigers may have the best back in state history (in terms of career yards), Luke Loudenburg, but Wolsey-Wessington has 2 2,000-yard backs and a decent passing game.

9AA: Gregory over Woonsocket-Wessington Springs-Sanborn Central. The Gorillas may not have a strong history in the Dome, 1-8 to be precise, but those Gorillas aren’t these Gorillas.

11A: Madison over Dell Rapids. This was a good game to start the season, 36-33 in Madison’s favor. While the Quarriers are better than they were, I think the Bulldogs win in what could be a classic.

9B: Hamlin over Faulkton Area. As much as I’d like to see Faulkton come in and pull off the upset, Hamlin’s got a squad that learned from losing on this stage a year ago.

11B: Parkston over St. Thomas More. The Trojans have a distinct advantage on the line and a fire from having lost here a year ago. As much as I want Mount Marty Hall of Famer Wayne Sullivan and the Cavaliers to finally get a win in the Dome, I don’t think it’s this year.

11AA: Yankton over Brookings. Both teams have tremendous offensive weapons, but I think Yankton’s defense is the deciding factor. An interesting note: Yankton went 6-0 in the ESD but didn’t play Huron and Brookings. The Bucks will have played them both in the playoffs after Friday night.

11AAA: Lincoln over Roosevelt. I think this is another good matchup between the programs, but I think Aaron Beavers and the Patriots hang on to the title.


Since I probably won’t have time to do a separate post on these, here are my Nebraska picks for the semifinals in classes that involve area teams.

C2: Oakland-Craig over Cedar Catholic (I’d love to cover the Trojans in Lincoln again, but Oakland-Craig may have the upper hand. Dress warm.); Battle Creek over Aquinas Catholic

D1: Hemingford over Elm Creek, GACC over BDS

D2: Falls City Sacred Heart over Exeter-Milligan, Anselmo-Merna over Maxwell.

Leave a Reply

