USD Men’s Basketball Commit: Logan Power

BY JEREMY HOECK

Logan Power, a 6-foot-5 small forward from Lincoln (Nebraska) Christian High School, has committed to the University of South Dakota men’s basketball program, he told the Press & Dakotan on Wednesday.

You can watch some highlight clips here

Power, who averaged 20.6 points, 10.8 rebounds and 2.2 steals per game as a senior this past season, said he committed to USD head coach Craig Smith late last week. Power will join the Coyote program this fall.

It wasn’t until last summer, though, that Power ultimately chose to pursue basketball over football — a sport he also excelled in for Lincoln Christian.

“I was in the boat where I didn’t know if I wanted to play football and basketball,” Power said Wednesday evening.

By the end of the summer, following football camps and AAU basketball with NE Bison Red, hoops won out.

He had been in brief contact with the University of Nebraska staff while Smith was still in Lincoln, but Power said the conversations “exploded” when Smith was hired at USD.

“I love the opportunity going into that program with the coaches they have. I feel like they’re going in the right direction,” Power said.

It didn’t hurt, either, having an energetic coach like Smith to work with, he added.

“That’s one of the first things I noticed with him actually, how excited and pumped he was to get started,” Power said. “That’s something I really love; something that makes me more excited.”

As one of the bigger players on his high school team, Power said he played both in the post and on the perimeter.

“I like to play matchups, take what the defense gives me,” he said. “I’ll work hard, that’s just how I am.”

Power will join transfer Tre Burnette, a 6-foot-5 guard from Williston (N.D.) State, as newcomers to USD’s 2014-15 roster.

Leave a Reply

