Cal Poly, UC Davis To Big Sky Conference

The conference realignment saga in college football continued Tuesday as the Cal Poly and UC Davis accepted invitations to join the Big Sky Conference in football.

The official release can be found here.

Both schools will join the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) league starting in 2012, which means the Great West Conference — as it stands now, with 5 teams — will be significantly changed within two years.

Currently, the Great West fields football members Cal Poly, UC Davis, Southern Utah, North Dakota and South Dakota.

Where this leaves USD (and UND) isn’t clearly known, but there are still options out there, including a) Both join the Missouri Valley Football Conference, or b) both join The Summit League, which is studying the addition of football as a league sport.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s