Charlie Battery

Let me begin with… Charlie Battery, you and your families are AMAZING. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

Occasionally, I have the opportunity to photograph or report on something that truly moves me. Last weekend photographing the Charlie Battery Activation Ceremony was one of those events. It is always interesting trying to capture photographs when some of the emotion you are seeing causes you to tear up.

The hardest part of putting this video together for the P&D was to determine which song and which images. I have to be honest, the song once I heard it, was not hard at all.

The Press and Dakotan would like to thank SFC Howard Smith and SFC John Lamirande as well as the US Army Field Band for allowing us to use their song “I Am A Soldier (Warror’s Ethos)” for this slideshow.

As for which pictures to put in… I have to be honest, between Kelly Hertz and myself, we captured more than 1,000 images Saturday. There was no way we could put them all in the video. So I took my favorite 200 or so and let the slideshow program pick and choose. Anyway, that said, if you want to see the other 900 images from the day visit spotted.yankton.net.

I hope you enjoy the video.

Copies of the full resolution slideshow are available for the family members of Charlie Battery. Just call me at the Press and Dakotan and I will get a copy made for you to pick up. 665-7811 ext 121

For more samples of the music provided by the US FIeld Army Band please visit www.army.mil/FIELDBAND.

U.S. Army Field Band Audio | 4214 Field Band Drive | Fort Meade, MD 20755-5330

Leave a Reply

