Report: USD Women Ink Juco Transfer

A story today in the Commercial-News (Danville, Ill.) says that Danville Area Community College basketball standout Abby Kinder is transferring to the University of South Dakota.

The 5-foot-11 sophomore, who has collegiate experience at all five positions on the floor, is projected as a possible starter at small forward or shooting guard, the story reports. It also quotes Kinder as saying:

“They were the first Division I school to show an interest in me. It’s always nice to feel wanted at the next level and I fit in well there. The position I will play is not set in stone or anything, but I feel like wherever I play I will be able to make a difference on the team. Overall it’s the right place for me to be.”

The Elkhart, Indiana, native averaged 15.4 points per game for DACC last season and set a school record for assists (150) in a season — according to the school’s athletic Web site.

The junior college (Juco) transfer adds another solid piece to what looks to be an already loaded 2009-10 USD women’s basketball team. The Division I Coyotes, under head coach Ryun Williams, will see two other transfers (Teresa Case, Jackie Hiebert) become eligible, while Amber Hegge returns after a redshirt season. Add in Kinder and the team’s solid recruiting class, and USD has plenty to be excited about next season.

I’ll have more on Kinder’s transfer in the P&D’s weekly USD notebook, set for later this week.