S.D. Hall To Induct 8

The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame announced its 2009 class Thursday morning, a group that includes several with regional ties.

Yankton native Lisa Van Goor, former Tyndall and University of South Dakota standout Lee “Lefty” Hisek, former Coyote Roger Nelson and Beresford native Bob Young are among the honorees, who will be inducted April 4 in Sioux Falls. Also selected were Sioux Falls golfing great Peggy Kirby, Olympic trapshooter Frank Hughes, former SDHSAA official Ruth Rehn and USA Today founder Al Neuharth.

Van Goor, a 1980 graduate of YHS, is the all-time leading scorer in University of Colorado basketball history, as well as the school’s all-time leader in rebounds and blocked shots (men and women). The 6-3 center was the first female inducted into the Colorado University Sports Hall of Fame (1999).

Hisek, the “Tyndall Tornado,” was a three-time state 100-yard dash champion, and won the NCC title in the 100 four times. In the 1967 state track meet, he earned gold medals in four events (100, 220, 440 relay, 880 relay), setting Class B state meet records in each event to help the Panthers win a second straight state title. He also coached for 10 years, including stops at both USD and Yankton College.

Nelson, a 1954 Brookings grad, was the starting center for USD’s 1958 Division II national championship team. He also started for the Coyote team that finished third the season prior. He has also been an official for more than 50 years, overseeing a wide range of sports: football, basketball, volleyball, wrestling, track, baseball and softball.

Young, a Beresford and University of Sioux Falls graduate, is the winningest football coach in USF history (172-69-3 in 22 seasons). His Cougars made 10 NAIA playoff appearances, including nine of his last 11 seasons. The 1996 Cougar squad went 14-0, winning the national championship. As a player, he played both offensive guard and linebacker for Sioux Falls, earning all-conference and team MVP honors as a senior.

Ticket information will be released at a later date. More on these individuals will appear in Friday’s Press & Dakotan.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s